Loudly Mag


Hyperdub to release AIDOL 爱道 soundtrack


Hyperdub are releasing a special edition of Lawrence Lek’s soundtrack to his first feature-length film, AIDOL 爱道.

Lek, a simulation artist who uses computer-generated animation and video game engines to create films and virtual worlds, plays with the language of science fiction, music videos and corporate worldbuilding.


With AIDOL 爱道, the artist has created a CGI fantasy, deploying 3D rendering and video gaming software. It tells the story of Diva—a fading superstar preparing for a comeback performance at the 2065 “eSports Olympics”—and Geo, an AI who wants to be an artist. Set in a smoke-and-mirrors realm of fantastical architecture, sentient drones and snow-deluged jungles, AIDOL 爱道 revolves around the long and complex struggle between humanity and Artificial Intelligence. 

As for the Hyperdub release, the album is available via Bandcamp on digital download, vinyl, and a limited-edition USB stick accompanied with English and Mandarin lyrics sheet.

Watch a video for "Followers (Diva's Theme)" which is sung by the vocaloid character that stars in AIDOL 爱道, here:

Album Tracklist:

1. Intro (My Single Isn’t Finished Yet)

2. Deep Blue Monday

3. In The Game

4. Chance Encounter (Jungle Theme)

5. Call of Beauty

6. Welcome to SoMA

7. Unreal

8. Superstar

9. One Nation

10. Beware Your Fans, Diva

11. Call of Beauty (eSports Repreise)

12. Followers (Diva’s Theme)

13. Farsight’s Greatest Star

14. In My Prime (Bonus Track)

15. Apocalypse (End Theme)